Filling the Form

I am a huge fan of Julia Cameron. For those of you who dont know, she is the author of ‘The Artists Way”. A very good friend gave me a copy of this book when I graduated from college, and it has had a tremendous impact on my life. The tools that I learned from her (morning pages, affirmations, artist dates) are the things that have kept me going as an artist all of these years.

I re-read the book often, and this week I was reading the section on “Filling the Form”. It was all about how as artists, we have so many dreams and goals, and we want to “make it” so badly, that we often overwhelm ourselves. We look at where we are now and then we look at where we WANT to be (on Broadway, Hollywood, etc) and we get discouraged. We think that there is no way we are ever going to make it up that mountain. And instead of focusing on the ONE thing we can do today to get us closer to that goal, we focus on the BIG PICTURE. And that holds us back.

One of my best teachers taught me this simple tool: “Do Five things a day for your career, and you WILL work”. I have found this to be true. Whether its sending an email, making a phone call, mailing a picture, do FIVE THINGS EVERY DAY, and you will work. My coach calls this “Planting seeds”. Julia Cameron calls it ‘Filling the Form”. Simply put, its taking samll steps every day towards your goal and trusting that, overtime, your efforts will pay off.

What five things will YOU do today?

http://www.jennicacarmona.com/

About Jennica Carmona

Voice Mail: (212) 802-8498 Legit — Meg Pantera: (212) 219-9330 Commercial/Print — Prestige Model Management: (212) 239-6784

Posted on August 7, 2010, in Jennica. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

