Happy Thursday!

Last nite I met up with a friend who happens to be the House Manager for a very prestigious theater here in NYC. I got a tour of the theatre and saw the set being built for their next production. It was so exciting! He showed me all around and he told me all about the play, which is a show that has been on in London for a while and is now going to premiere here in NYC. The play is about a group of men who work as coal miners, but who discover a hidden passion and talent for painting! The men and their paintings end up becoming very famous! I cant wait to see the show when it opens. It felt so great to be in the Broadway area and be reminded of what I do and what my goals are.

We later went out for drinks and got into a very heated discussion about the pros and cons of Facebook. Now, I’ll be honest, I am NOT a Facebook fan. I think it serves a purpose and has its place in my life, but I definitely dont give it the importance that other people seem to. I think that there needs to be an organization called “Facebook Anonymous” and I know a lot of people who should join it! Seriously, its like an addiction for some people!
I have a lot of friends and family that live far away from me, and when it comes to them, yes, Facebook comes in very handy. Its great to be able to keep in touch with them and see pictures of them etc when I cant be with them.

But the vast majority of my friends are here in the city, and to me it just seems like the lazy way to keep in touch with me. It doesnt speak to a genuine interest in being a part of my life. Yes, I know, we are ALL very busy, but really, you cant just pick up the phone and CALL me? You cant take 20 minutes out of your schedule to have coffee with me? Really? If I were Spike Lee, would you fnd that 20 minutes? I think you would….

I dont want to sound preachy…really I dont…its just that one of the most important things Ive realized over the past few years is the importance of nurturing our relationships- all of them….that means taking the time to really be a part of peoples lives…whether its coffee, or a phone call, whatever…I’m talking about real human face-to face interaction! I think its particualrly true for artists in NYC. We are all so busy pursuing our goals that we barely make time for our friends and family. And thats actually counter- productive.

I dont want to read ridiculous status updates every five minutes telling me what flavor your coffee is…I dont want to see pics of you getting drunk at some party. I dont want to be one of 500 other people getting the same email inviting me to some event.

You know what Checkov, the famous Russian playwright said? He said, ‘If you want to work on your art, work on your life”. I agree.

What friend or family member can you call tonite? šŸ™‚

http://www.jennicacarmona.com/

About Jennica Carmona

Voice Mail: (212) 802-8498 Legit ā€” Meg Pantera: (212) 219-9330 Commercial/Print ā€” Prestige Model Management: (212) 239-6784

Posted on September 9, 2010, in Jennica, Pictures. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

