Moving in NYC

Moving in NYC has got to be the hardest thing ever. It is such a complete hassle: so time, money and energy consuming, and just an overall drag. Broker fees, application fees, moving costs….it sucks! There is also something so emotionally draining about moving…it feels like I am being uprooted..it makes me feel like an orphan…I lose my sense of center and focus….at any rate, I am doing my best to stay positive thru this process and looking forward to a new home and new beginning in a couple of weeks. Step by step….

I cant wait until January because thats when Shakespeare gym starts up again- we are looking at Hamlet this time around. It will feel so good to be re-connected to all of my actor friends again and practice my skills on a regular basis. Its been a while, so I need to re-read the play over the holidays and choose some stuff I wanna work on….part of what I love about these classes is that you meet people from all walks of life…from people just out of college to people in their 40 and 50’s wanting to give acting another shot…

I was talking to a coworker yesterday who is a lot older and who recently completed her first bachelors degree. Her eyes just lit up when she told me about it and I could literally feel her pride and joy at having finally reached this milestone. I was so happy for her. She will now go on to pursue her masters degree and eventually go on to more fulfilling, professional work. I am always inspired by people who do things in the “unconventional” way….it takes so much more courage to go back to school or pursue a buried dream of acting in your 40’s or 50’s than it does when you are younger. You face criticism from society that tells you that ” by now you should be this, or you should be doing that”….it takes a lot to stick to your own beliefs and follow your heart, even against the odds. Our society tends to celebrate youth and their accomplishments so much, and to a certain extent, thats understandable. We should celebrate and support them. But the truth is that I am much more fascinated by people who reach a certain point in their lives, recognize a desire to do something, and then take the risks to actually do it!!! So cheers to all of you “unconventional” people out there. šŸ™‚

In other news, I have been reading The Power of Now, by Eckhart Tolle. Its one of those books that Ive been meaning to read for a long time, but never got around to doing until now. OMG, its soo good!!! I mean, its so INTENSE, but he really speaks a lot of truth about our minds, our thoughts, our egos, and how we let those things control us and our lives… he talks about our other self and our real self…..and about how we need to constantly live in the moment….I cant really do it any justice here, but I do recommend reading it if you havent already…

Have a great day everyone! šŸ™‚

About Jennica Carmona

Voice Mail: (212) 802-8498 Legit ā€” Meg Pantera: (212) 219-9330 Commercial/Print ā€” Prestige Model Management: (212) 239-6784

Posted on December 22, 2010, in Jennica. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

