my friend Wendy Eilers

So, did everyone have a great Valentines day and do something very loving for yourselves?!! And for somebody else? 🙂
I hope you are all recovered from all of the flowers, chocolate, alcohol, and romance, etc…

Today I wanted to share this email from a good friend of mine, Wendy Eilers. She is a very talented painter and she recently sent me this message. I found it to be very inspiring and wanted to share it all with you. I hope that it will inspire you in the same way it did me. Enjoy, and have a great day!!

Since I last sent an announcement about my artwork, my conviction about how I label myself has become stronger. When people ask me what I do… I never neglect to say “I’m an artist” somewhere in my answer. In New York, a lot of people call themselves artists, so my answer is shrugged off by others sometimes, but I don’t care. I AM AN ARTIST — A PAINTER…. And I love that. I feel really lucky to have great family and friends, a great full-time paying job, a great apartment, and great inspirational surroundings that all help me to focus on what I am supposed to do with my art in my life. I hope you are also exploring the piece of you that makes you unique, no matter if you are paid for it or not. ETSY: http://wendyeilers.etsy.com
This website called www.etsy.com has created an online community for artists to sell their wares to the public. I have joined the crowd. Some of my watercolor originals and reproductions (a bit cheaper than the originals) have been posted. You can pay using a credit card, debit card, paypal account, personal check, whatever. I am always interested in feedback on my work and the store. I expect more originals that are already finished to be posted soon, so please keep checking back. I hope you find something you like… and buy it! Please also spread the word about my site and Etsy.com in general to friends who may be looking for artwork.
(Thanks to my friend Jaime for helping me get started. Check out Jaime’s store too!)

TWITTER: http://twitter.com/wendyeilers
I started “tweeting”… on Twitter.com in a way that suits me. I am not sure how this will turn out, but I want my tweets to be a collection of my lessons I have learned as an artist — who is in business with my art. Most of these are to remind myself, but I hope other artists (and creativity-seekers) find my lessons helpful. If you are already familiar with Twitter, follow me @wendyeilers and tweet about me please. For those of you who don’t know Twitter, take a look at my Twitter page to get a glimpse all the tweeting going on.
(Thanks to my fellow LBiers who answered my questions, so I could figure this whole thing out.)

WEBSITE: http://www.wendyeilers.com
Every artist needs a website to show off their portfolio, sold, for sale, or not for sale. I have one too. Of course, as with any website, I’m already working on the next design for it and there are always more works to post. Next step.. use a CMS instead of continuing to manually code the HTML!
(Thanks to my friend Adam for helping a great deal here. If you’re looking for someone to host your site, I can put you in touch with him.)

FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/wendyeilers
Of course, I would love to have you for a friend on Facebook if I don’t already. On Facebook, you will see me post sketches as I go about my weekends in New York City and elsewhere like my recent trip to the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

WendyEilers MET-Intro-Desk 2011-01-08

I have said it before, and I’ll say it again: There is no way this is just a skill I have. I am certain my fingers are only a vessel through which God can show on paper how beautiful things can be in this world. I finish many paintings, look at them, and have no idea how I did it. I hope you feel the same way about something too.
2 Corinthians 4:7-18

Cheers! from Brooklyn, NY. Stay warm.

Wendy

Wendy Eilers

About Jennica Carmona

Voice Mail: (212) 802-8498 Legit — Meg Pantera: (212) 219-9330 Commercial/Print — Prestige Model Management: (212) 239-6784

Posted on February 15, 2011, in Jennica, Pictures. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

