Screenplay Sketch

LOUD MUSIC and TV can be heard from next door. NEIGHBORS come in and out. There is a BARE TABLE, TWO CHAIRS, and a BOTTLE OF WATER on the table. The paint on the walls is peeling.

At the end of the table sits SAMMY, an 8 y/old Mexican boy. He is short and chubby, with huge brown eyes and a sweet smile. He wears a ratty t-shirt and sweats. He radiates an essence that is a strange combination of youthful innocence and adult-like wariness. His WORKBOOK is in front of him, as well as several pens and pencils.

Seated to Sammy’s left is JEREMY, an African American teacher in his mid 40’s. He is kind, yet firm. He attempts to keep Sammy’s attention on the lesson, despite the distractions.

JEREMY
Sammy, is this story told from the First Person or Third Person?

SAMMY
Uuumm..Third Person?

JEREMY
No, Sammy, thats not correct.

SAMMY
O, no, I meant First Person. Sorry.

JEREMY
We went over this yesterday, do you remember?

SAMMY
I know, I’m sorry, I forgot. I’m sorry. I’m doing my best.

JEREMY
Sammy, I need you to work harder on your own. I need you to work on this, even when I am not here.

SAMMY
OK, I’m sorry. I will try harder.

JEREMY
Stop saying I’m sorry. You dont have to be sorry. You just need to work harder.

SAMMY
Si, pero es que…es que…
A pause. Struggling to compose himself, Sammy finally gives in and lets the tears roll down his face. Jeremy puts a hand on his shoulder.

JEREMY
Que?..you can tell me..I will understand…yo te entiendo…

SAMMY
Es que, cuando estoy estudiando, no puedo concentrarme, porque me preocupo de mi familia.

JEREMY
Porque? Que esta pasando con tu familia?

SAMMY
Es que…mi mama y mi papa siempre estan peleando…el bebe mucho y siempre esta gritando…una vez se fue por mucho tiempo, y mi mama estaba bien triste..no teniamos con que comprar comida o pagar la renta….por fin regreso, pero al rato ya estaban peleando de nuevo. Cuando trato de concentrarme en mi trabajo, entran memorias de las peleas….y no puedo seguir…

to be continued…

About Jennica Carmona

Voice Mail: (212) 802-8498 Legit — Meg Pantera: (212) 219-9330 Commercial/Print — Prestige Model Management: (212) 239-6784

Posted on February 18, 2011, in Jennica. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

