tuesday in the city

It was our last “working class” before the recital next week. L, the instructor, said something really interesting while one of my classmates was up there. She was doing “moonriver” and she had started to cry for no apparent reason. L said that its natural to start crying during a voice lesson because singing is very personal and it connects to our hearts, it connects to things inside of us that we are not even aware are there. We live in a world in which we are very disconnected thruout the day, and closed off from our feelings. When we sing, those feelings are let free and can be overwhelming. Somehow,that made perfect sense to me. There is a certain nakedness and vulnerabilty that I feel when I am singing, a feeling that I am sharing a very private part of myself with the listener. I rarely get nervous when I dance or act, and yet it has always been the vocal auditions that cause me the greatest anxiety. Not because I don’t think I can sing…but because of that vulnerabilty I feel when I sing… It’s very exciting and powerful, and at the same time very scary. At any rate, its one of the reasons I wanted to take this class (and plan on doing more of them). To get used to that feeling and channeling that energy into my performances to better express the sentiment of the character or the mood of the scene. So, here we go, next tuesday nite at 6…jennica/alice ripley doing her rendition of “somewhere” from west side…
Tonite I’m gonna see my friends perform at the magnet- more musical improv…just what the doctor ordered…

About Jennica Carmona

Voice Mail: (212) 802-8498 Legit — Meg Pantera: (212) 219-9330 Commercial/Print — Prestige Model Management: (212) 239-6784

Posted on April 5, 2011, in Jennica. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

