A post on Habits

I loved this essay that someone forwarded to me, so I am re-posting it here. It sort of reminds me of that whole scene between Miyagi and Daniel-san in the Karate Kid (“Wax-on, Wax off”). Daniels all pissed because Miyagi is having him clean the cars with no apparent purpose other than to do his chores for him. But when Miyagi shows him that the muscles he was using to clean the cars are the same ones he uses to block his attacker- it all makes sense.

Anyway, heres the post on Habit. I hope you enjoy! 🙂

jennica

I am your constant companion.
I am your greatest helper or heaviest burden.
I will push you onward or drag you down to failure.
I am completely at your command.
Half of the things you do you might as well turn over to me
and I will do them-quickly and correctly.
I am easily managed – you must be firm with me.
Show me exactly how you want something done and
after a few lessons, I will do it automatically.
I am the servant of great people, and alas of all failures as well.
Those who are failures, I have made failures.
I am not a machine though I work with the precision of a machine
plus the intelligence of a person.
You may run me for profit or run me for ruin –
it makes no difference to me.
Take me, train me, be firm with me and
I will place the world at your feet.
Be easy with me and I will destroy you.
Who am I?
I am Habit.

– Ian Krieger

About Jennica Carmona

Voice Mail: (212) 802-8498 Legit — Meg Pantera: (212) 219-9330 Commercial/Print — Prestige Model Management: (212) 239-6784

Posted on September 14, 2011, in Jennica. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

