Done!

Last nite my Kickstarter campaign came to a close. It was an intense two months, with a lot of writing, phone calls, events to attend and follow up involved. . in a way, it was a crash course in starting up your own business.  You learn a lot about the importance of persistence, even when you are not getting a response.  You learn to be creative in your updates, creative in thinking up rewards, creative in thinking about who would be interested in being a part of  your project. This was my first fundraising effort and I met the  goal two weeks before the deadline, and surpassed the goal by almost $400!  (between KS pledges and mailed in checks!) Not bad for a first time, if I do say so myself.  🙂

I am going to allow myself a little breather for a while in order to recover, but my next step will be to have a fundraising event in El Barrio. I already have the help of a great venue to hold it in, so now my work will be to get various performers to perform at the event. I am hoping to get a large turnout and really get us closer to being able to shoot.

Even though I have a lot of other parts to this fundraising journey before I am ready to shoot, I feel a little bit sentimental about my Kickstarter campaign.  These pledges were not from big companies or organizations. They were the $5.00 and $25.00 pledges from family and friends and people who believe in me and want to help me get this film made, with no interest in it for themselves.  Its no secret that these are hard economic times for everyone, so the fact that they were willing to donate to my project even despite this reality really touches my heart.

Thats all for now! Have a wonderful nite everyone!

Jennica

About Jennica Carmona

Voice Mail: (212) 802-8498 Legit — Meg Pantera: (212) 219-9330 Commercial/Print — Prestige Model Management: (212) 239-6784

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Jennica. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

